FOODIES: What prepared or pre-packaged foods do you use?

samhexum

6 minutes ago, samhexum said:

Martha Stewart has admitted that she uses canned pumpkin, saying it's one of the few canned items she uses.

For those of you that cook a lot, what pre-made mass-produced items do you use for convenience?

Packaged phyllo pastry and and packaged puff pastry to save time.

I use Pillsbury pre-made pie crusts. 
I will never attempt to squeeze key limes again. 
I will never attempt to use fresh pumpkins again.
I use vanilla paste not vanilla beans https://nielsenmassey.com/products/pure-vanilla-bean-paste/
I buy my chicken / beef / fish broth 90% of the time. 
I don’t bake my own breads (that’s why we have bakeries for fuck’s sake)
Sadly despite my Southern roots, I have given up on biscuits. 
I don’t roast my own chickens 90% of the time…fucking Costco is hard to beat.

Despite, or perhaps because of, all of the above….I am a wicked cook. 

32 minutes ago, Charlie said:

I always keep a can of pumpkin in the pantry, because my vet told me years ago that it is the best thing to feed a dog when it has an upset stomach.

Canned pumpkin is also good for cats who suffer from hyperthyroidism. Makes for a less unpleasant litterbox.

I use the following prepared/canned foods:

- No salt added canned tomatoes

- Lime/lemon juice in recipes 

- Broccoli slaw 

- Canned chicken soup (Progresso)

- Boxed chicken, beef, and vegetable stock

Let’s see:

• Make my own stock, duck, turkey, chicken, veal stock all in freezer now
  • Make my own sourdough bread 2-3 times monthly from starter I created about 12 years ago
  • Make my own pizza dough (some ready for tonight) and sauce too
  • Make my own tomato sauce from summer garden, about 8 quarts in freezer now
  • Pesto from the basil in the garden too
  • Roast my own coffee beans
  • Dry age primal cuts of prime beef, and occasionally ducks in dry aged locker in my garage.