How do you use email?

Charlie
This topic is 792 days old and is no longer open for new replies.  Replies are automatically disabled after two years of inactivity.  Please create a new topic instead of posting here.  

The recent post about answering the phone raised the observation that many people consider email an antiquated technology. I have been a prolific letter writer since my teens, and it has always been my primary means of communicating with friends and family. Often I didn't have a phone for personal calls--in college, living in other countries, traveling--but I could always write a letter and mail it. Non-local phone calls were also expensive, and required use of an intermediary like a long distance operator. The first time I lived in Europe, I brought a tape recorder with me, made cassette tapes, and mailed them back every week to my spouse in the US. When email became available at the end of the 20th century, I saw it as the perfect solution to my communication needs, especially for recipients at a distance. Now I use it even when I could use a phone, even for brief messages. Of course, many of my friends and family are also elderly, and don't like trying to text on a cell phone.

The main disadvantage to email is that I need more equipment that just a pen, a piece of paper and a stamp, or a working phone. Also, I can't get an immediate response the way I can with a phone call, and I don't even know if my communication has been received unless I get a reply, but that is equally true of snail mail. The clutter of spam/scam emails is a nuisance, but they are easy to recognize and ignore, and the number of spam texts is getting just as bad.

So, what is your attitude toward email? Have you abandoned it in favor of newer options?

Friends kid me because I not only write and send emails but they tend to be long with proper punctuation and caps where appropriate.