Do you speak another language besides English?

samandtham
This topic is 1906 days old and is no longer open for new replies.  Replies are automatically disabled after two years of inactivity.  Please create a new topic instead of posting here.  

I've been very curious as to whether that often-said, but not sweepingly substantiated, bit about Americans being hopelessly monolingual is true.

Among my friends, I'm the only one who speaks a foreign language (three, in fact) with decent to upper-intermediate command. They're always surprised whenever I tell them this, or demonstrate it in an occasion where it's appropriate. (Most recent experience: Friend: "Oh, you went to Quebec? Did you get to speak to them? I heard they're iffy with Anglophones." Me: "I did well. Spoke French with them. Had a good time." Friend: "Wait, you speak French?" Me: "Yeah. I've been learning and speaking for two years now." Friend: "...")

When I ask them if they can speak anything else not English, they would say that they used to (i.e. They had to for High School), but have forgotten it since the class ended.

Curiously enough, when I go to Craigslist or Meet Up to try and look for a language group where I can practice, there isn't a shortage of like-minded enthusiasts.

I understand the difficulty in being able to keep at it, being in America and all. But is this the only reason why a lot of us are monolingual? If geography is the only hinderance, then shouldn't we have some grasp of Spanish through our Mexican neighbors, or French from the Quebecois, owing to their proximity? There are a lot of "Little Italy"s in major cities, but I hardly hear Italian being spoken there; a bit of a contrast when I visit the same city's Chinatown.

How is it in your circles?

• Replies 199
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Donald trump has given us an idea of how close many Americans are to our Mexican neighbors, and Canada isn't too interested in their down south neighbors either.