Those of You With Dogs...

Funguy
This topic is 1644 days old and is no longer open for new replies.  Replies are automatically disabled after two years of inactivity.  Please create a new topic instead of posting here.  

I just came across a study called the "Dog Aging Project"which is using a drug called Rapamycin (Sirolimus) to not only prolong our friends' lives but improve the quality of that life.

It is a drug normally used in people as an immunosuppressive medication after kidney transplants. Some are also touting it's use in anti-aging with humans.

I have a call into my vet but, since it's the holidays, I don't expect a rapid response. In pouring through the articles I came up with a dosage of 0.1 mg per Kg of weight and given 3 times a week BUT nowhere could i find whether that was 0.1 mg/kg 3 times per week or DIVIDED into three times per week. The articles also mentioned using as small a dose as necessary. Minimal side effects.

As a physician I decided to call in a Rx and use it for my dog at 0.1 mg/kg DIVIDED three times a week. i can always up it if my vet comes up with information.

The group doing the study is going to have another study coming up but dogs must be "middle age" and over 40 pounds. Unfortunately, my guy is already a senior and has slipped under 40 lbs. (in his youth he was closer to 60 lbs.). But, he has nothing wrong with him other than old age (16 years) so I'm willing to give it a try.

It would also be a bit odd to be getting it for myself so I used his name and Goodrx.com - approximately $40 per month at the lowest dose.

Anybody with more info . . .?

Edited by Funguy

• Replies 86
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Am I an awful person for thinking that it strikes me as odd to mess around with the natural lifespan of a pet?

I'm all for giving my pets the very best of care, nutrition, and quality of life,