Suggestions for Neighborhoods in Philadelphia

Courage
This topic is 2142 days old and is no longer open for new replies.  Replies are automatically disabled after two years of inactivity.  Please create a new topic instead of posting here.  

So a job will return me to Philly after 20 years--I was a student there through the 90s.

I'm in the process of scoping out neighborhoods to rent a one-bedroom apartment in and, obviously, the place has changed. I visit regularly, but don't venture far outside Center City or the sports complex.

My priorities are:

1) Convenience to City Hall area, either by proximity or a Septa ride. I don't want to pay insurance and parking.

2) Good prospects for socializing. I'm early 40-something and have family and acquaintances in the city, but am leaving behind a lot of friends when I go.

3) Keeping rent to at *most* $1,600 (cheaper obviously welcome).

4) Gay-friendliness and safety.

From my experience of having lived in south Jersey many years ago, it seemed to me that the area around Rittenhouse Square was gay friendly and relatively safe (though a friend got mugged in the park there late one night). Not sure if that is true today. I worked in North Philly (north of Temple U.) and would not recommend that to anyone, unless they have bulldozed it and started over.

From my experience of having lived in south Jersey many years ago, it seemed to me that the area around Rittenhouse Square was gay friendly and relatively safe (though a friend got mugged in the park there late one night). Not sure if that is true today. I worked in North Philly (north of Temple U.) and would not recommend that to anyone, unless they have bulldozed it and started over.

I lived one year near Temple and moved to Fairmount, but believe that near campus is (in relative terms) much safer than it used to be. Don't wanna be around students, though :-)

As I mentioned in a previous comment, I still say that the best view of Philly is from the rear-view mirror.