Roll a mile in my chair.

purplekow

Last week I was at my favorite Italian deli and while walking toward the counter, my foot slid under a moveable shelf which was just a bit out of line.  When I went to take a step, I fell forward and landed on a low shelf filled with bags of pasta and both shelf and the pasta were surprisingly sturdy/ So I did not fall to the ground,  but I did partially tear my Achilles tendon and I have a fairly bad tear of my calf muscle.  Though no surgery is required, conservative estimates are that I will be unable to resume most activities for 6 weeks to 3 months.  Fortunately, that does not include horizontal activities. 

Anyway, I have been going to work and using a wheel chair.   At times, I can walk a short distance using the chair as a walker.  As I work in a hospital, there are also handrails I can use to pull myself along.  Also, for rounds, my residents have taken to wheeling me from patient to patient.  However, when I go to leave at night, there really is no one to help and I have been struggling to get back to my care.  Once I am home, I can get myself back into the house.  I have been struck by how helpful so many individuals have been.  These are not people I know but with only a few exceptions, people have asked if they can assist me in any way as I am making my way around.  Tonight, as I was trying to pull myself up a gentle incline the chair kept sliding back and I fully understood the torture of Sisyphus and the Rock.  Finally a stranger happened by and not only pushed me up the incline, he pushed me to my car and loaded the chair in my trunk.  This was not the first act of kindness I have received, only the latest.  

So, if anyone here has used or is using a wheelchair, are people as considerate as the people I have come across?  And how has your experience been in trying to deal with a world that is to my mind, not very considerate of the differently abled.