M'Lord Gcursor

gcursor
This topic is 4720 days old and is no longer open for new replies.  Replies are automatically disabled after two years of inactivity.  Please create a new topic instead of posting here.  

Um...

so I'm kind of new to this. Is there some kind of swearing-in ceremony for Lords? and how do I get to be addressed as a Lord? I kind of miss being a Knight because I always think of myself as a Knight. I have NO idea how to pretend to be a Lord. I mean can I SMOTE people now and stuff?

Gcursor

Um...

so I'm kind of new to this. Is there some kind of swearing-in ceremony for Lords? and how do I get to be addressed as a Lord? I kind of miss being a Knight because I always think of myself as a Knight. I have NO idea how to pretend to be a Lord. I mean can I SMOTE people now and stuff?

Gcursor

Is this a 'Life Peerage" you have attained or the higher ranking "Hereditary" one. ;-))

Guest Rich.

It's a forum Poolboy, and Gcursor is hiring. It's not likely to be hereditary. :rolleyes:

Hopefully this may clear up any confusion! :)

Upon accepting a peerage, a citizen becomes a Peer of the Realm immediately upon the granting of the 'Letters Patent' and then receiving the first 'Writ of Summons'. This writ, based upon the original writ of Edward III, defines the role and obligations of a new peer. New peers become Members of the House of Lords after being formally introduced at the introduction ceremony, and has taken (or affirms) an Oath of Allegiance for the first time. The Oath of Allegiance must be taken at each new Parliament before a peer may sit in the House of Lords. The procedure of Letters Patent, Writ of Summons, Introduction and Oath of Allegiance collectively represent a contract which is 'Binding in Honour'. [16]

Taking the oath in the House of Lords