My Old Credit Card

TonyDown

I still have the original credit card account I signed up for when I graduated from college, from one of the big banks.

During the last year, the bank has been encouraging me to switch my account to one of their awards card accounts. 

While visiting to sign up for a CD, the cute young banker mentioned he hasn't seen my old style account for awhile.  He also recommended switching to their rewards card.

What I am curious about is why so anxious to have me switch?

I already have a rewards card from another institution used for most of my spends.

So I hesitate to drop this legacy account.

My question is, what is the benefit for the bank to have me switch?

well, they might? have your best interest (no pun intended) at heart because you're a longtime customer and all that......perhaps they do want to see you start earning rewards, finally.....

however, check if there's an annual fee (now or eventually) on the new card (your current card probably doesn't have one).....or they may think you'll spend more to earn rewards (and they'll get more merchant fees as a result).......or they may have a quota to reach for new card applications......

or, if you're friendly with the bank and they know you and all that, just ask what's in it for them?

16 minutes ago, TonyDown said:

While visiting to sign up for a CD, the cute young banker mentioned he hasn't seen my old style account for awhile. 

He was trying to be polite and not call you(r account) outdated.   You should have pulled out your flip phone and told him about the deal you get with Consumer Cellular.

11 hours ago, TonyDown said:

My question is, what is the benefit for the bank to have me switch?