Dog vaccinations

Michael Vincenzo
This topic is 5296 days old and is no longer open for new replies.  Replies are automatically disabled after two years of inactivity.  Please create a new topic instead of posting here.  

Because I don't want anyone else to experience what I've been through for the past few days, I thought I would get the word out about dog vaccinations and the possibility of very dangerous reactions and side effects. Although I am not a proponent of vaccinations (for humans or dogs), I am not against them either. I think the following information will save you, and your companion animal a lot of potential stress.

I recently had both of my dogs vaccinated and, although I stressed to my vet that I wanted the least amount of vaccine injected into my dogs, one of my dogs had a potentially life threatening experience. The vet not only gave every possible vaccination, but also included a new one (H3N8) for a dog flu (I think they are trying to cash in on the fear of H1N1). This is the first time that my dogs have been given a 3 year rabies vaccine and that is where the trouble stemmed from.

Three weeks post vaccination, my female dog (Bella) became lethargic, all of the pads on her paws became hardened, dried out, and cracked, and she couldn't walk. She also had a discharge from one of her eyes and then these horrific dark scabs developed over her face, ears, and anywhere there was a bone protrusion (hocks, joints, elbows). Bella would not come to the door when I arrived home, she wouldn't play ball, and she had a debilitating limp that changed from one leg to another. I took her to the vet and she also had a fever.