Peritoneal Dialysis 411, Suggestions, Recommendations, experiences?

Rod Hagen

Hello.  Someone very close to me, 83 yo male, with newly diagnosed CHF and Kidney failure received his Peritoneal port today and eventually, once it's healed, will transition from Hemodialysis, which he started last week from his new AV fistula, to at home dialysis from his peritoneal Port. His nephrologist is certain that with training, and assistance in the beginning, he should be able to handle it alone going forward.  He lives alone.

If any of you have direct personal experience with PD or had/have a love one on it, I'd love to hear anything you have to say.

Also, any experiences any of you have with loved ones, or patients, who transitioned from PD to at-home Hospice, or even not at-home hospice, I'd love to hear your thoughts or feelings or theories as well.   I'm new to all this, but I've been reading a lot and have talked quite a bit to two nephrologist friends.  Nevertheless,  anything you have to say would be helpful and appreciated.  Thank you very very much.

Edited by Rod Hagen

Without any personal knowledge of whom you speak, 
I just don’t see any 83 y/o person being able to manage 
peritoneal dialysis (PD) at home. It’s complex, requires 
manual dexterity, and strict adherence to sterile 
technique. I know first hand it was hard for an intelligent,
well trained 30 y/o nurse to get right. I don’t see anyone
over 70 standing a snowball’s chance in hell. 

I’m having a little trouble understanding why you’d 
bother putting in an AV fistula, and why one week after
it’s mature enough to use, you’re transitioning to PD.
That doesn’t really make sense. That coupled with the
question about hospice makes me think these are all
just temporary measures meant to make someone (or
their family) "fell better" and not really intended as a
long term solution or treatment.

I’m sorry if that sounds cold, but it’s the only logical
answer I can come up with. At 83 years of age,