Email Hacking- How Is It Done?

Lucky
This topic is 5692 days old and is no longer open for new replies.  Replies are automatically disabled after two years of inactivity.  Please create a new topic instead of posting here.  

The news today reveals that a certain governor of a western state had her email account hacked and her personal emails revealed. (This is NOT a politics thread, thank you.) So, how is this done?

I wonder because one of my accounts was hacked and I have never told anyone the password nor have I written it down. I found out when I started to receive MAILER-DAEMON type responses telling me that my email had been sent to a closed or nonexistent account. Of course, I had never sent the email in the first place. So, I ask, how is this done? I stopped it by changing my password, and not staying signed in to the account.

I'm not an expert on this, but I'll share what I know, as the same thing happened to me last year.

Although possible, it's likely your email account wasn't hacked at all. All someone (like a spammer) needs in order to send out thousands of emails from "you" is your email address. They don't need access to your email account, and they don't need your password. All they need is your email address.

The SMTP (Simple Mail Transport Protocol) servers that handle most email over the internet are not very sophisticated, and they assume that the address that's sending an email is legitimate. They don't use any authentication process or password. If someone sending an email says he's "Lucky@myisp.c0m", that's good enough. Out it goes with your email address.