Dave Chappelle on Netflix

Lucky

Since I have little to no experience watching Dave Chappelle, I took in one of his Netflix shows. The title is The Age of Spin.

Since I rarely enjoy comedy on film or video- I need to be there live- I wasn't hopeful. But, after about 15 minutes in, I was laughing out loud in my living room! Most shocking about that is that it was some of his gay stuff that had me giggling.

It was fun to look at the crowd and see these guys sit with very sour faces when everyone else was laughing.

His political stuff is pointed and often harsh, but I think I agree with him much more than not.

I'd be interested to know what you think, but only if you see the show.

• 1 year later...
Guest MikeThomas

Did you watch his latest show.... Closer?  Everyone is up in arms.  I thought it was brilliant.  Will need to catch up and watch his other shows.

I agree that Closer was brilliant, @MikeThomas. Dave Chappelle is not homophobic or transphobic. He may have questions about things he doesn't understand, but I don't think he is a mean person. At the end of the show he told a long story about a trans woman who opened his act in San Francisco. It was very touching.

Chappelle says that empathy is bisexual in that it has to go both ways. And he makes a great point about the gay community's treatment of black people. We have nothing to brag about on gay black rights and representation in our own community.

Thanks, Dave, for the laughs and the tears.

Closer, on Netflix now.

On 10/15/2021 at 10:36 PM, latbear4blk said:

I just saw the show and loved it. I am an old time fan, but this one was his most brilliant performance, and his intentionality to be controversial is right on target and quite explicit from the very beginning. 

I am a Chappelle fan too.  But there are some who think that he is crossing the line.  This article made a good case for why that is the case.