"Cats" on Bdway again

This topic is 2826 days old and is no longer open for new replies.  Replies are automatically disabled after two years of inactivity.  Please create a new topic instead of posting here.  

Saw a preview last week. Loved it !! Great dancing and wonderful music. Go and enjoy and get a great seat !

Leona Lewis got a scathing review. And as they stay it stays true to the original, if you saw it the first time around with Betty Buckley, nothing will top that .

The orchestra is HALF the size of the original. (13 players, down from the original 25.) That's more ok for a small regional production, perhaps (and would be typical for a touring production), but it's a terrible shame to see a show (yet again) downsized like that on Broadway. As a musician, I can't support that.

Often, the LAST consideration in a musical is the music itself. Why is that? And why would Lloyd Webber have agreed to such a radical thinning out of his score for a Broadway venue?

And as they stay it stays true to the original, if you saw it the first time around with Betty Buckley, nothing will top that.

Just a reminder that Buckley was not the first - the role was created (in London) by the fantastic Elaine Paige.

When I saw the original production in London it was a smaller and much more personal show. Thought it was one of the best things I had ever seen. Then they blew it up out of all proportion when it came to New York. The show was a good spectacle but it lacked the brilliance and genius of the original. Don't think I can take another overblown version.