Alan Turing To be Pardoned

bcohen7719
This topic is 3810 days old and is no longer open for new replies.  Replies are automatically disabled after two years of inactivity.  Please create a new topic instead of posting here.  

The latest news from England is that Alan Turing is finally to be "pardoned"

(for sexual offenses) by the British Government.

This is the [gay] man who quite possibly saved the Allies from losing to the Nazis.

Some additional background, below.

BC

[video=youtube;g7_WzNzHwJY]

For those of you who know opera - "e morto...or gli perdono"???

i.e. what's really the point in pardoning a man who died almost 60 years ago? Maybe "pardon" is the wrong word (in a number of ways)?

Maybe it's the British Government who should be pardoned for shunning him (and castrating him), if now they're admitting they were wrong about it?

Thanks for the video. Ever since I started studying computer science, Alan Turing and his wok interested me. One day, as part of my "bucket list", I want to visit Bletchley Park and study some of the related British history.

Last year, Google helped sponsor thru the Bletchley Trust an Alan Turing version of the board game MONOPOLY by comitting to buy 5000 copies of the game itself to insure a production run of the game was published. I bought some copies myself as gifts and one for me. :-)

Some information here on the Turing version of the game and another to buy it (and helping the Bletchley Park Trust:

http://www.guardian.co.uk/technology/2012/sep/10/alan-turing-monopoly-board-google

and

http://www.bletchleypark.org.uk/shop/p.rhtm/130853/692565-Special_Edition_Alan_Turing_Monopoly_Set.html

For those of you who know opera - "e morto...or gli perdono"???

i.e. what's really the point in pardoning a man who died almost 60 years ago? Maybe "pardon" is the wrong word (in a number of ways)?