Iowa Celebrates 3 Years of Gay Marriage Rights

leigh.bess.toad
This topic is 4436 days old and is no longer open for new replies.  Replies are automatically disabled after two years of inactivity.  Please create a new topic instead of posting here.  

I am not a proponent of gay marriage but very much in favor of civil unions between gay folks. Some view this as a matter of semantics but my opinion is my opinion.

However, this video was sweet and something I enjoyed seeing. Thanks for posting it.

Best regards,

KMEM

I am not a proponent of gay marriage but very much in favor of civil unions between gay folks. Some view this as a matter of semantics but my opinion is my opinion.

And you are certainly entitled to your opinion And I don't want to turn this into a political discussion, but why should I have to settle for something less than full equal treatment? Marriage is a civil institution and I don't think I should have to settle for a separate but not equal status. As an American citizen, I deserve no less. To me, a civil union is still 2nd class citizenship. Just my opinion.

Does that mean you think that everyone who was joined together in a civil ceremony is "enjoying" second class citizenship? My point is that I consider marriage as a religious ceremony although that might change with time and effort. Again, is it semantics? The "real" inequality is in the federal treatment of "some" who are joined together through a civil ceremony. I am afraid that is perhaps a constitutional issue partly because the feds do not have "control" of either marriage or civil unions and I happen to agree that they should not. However, it does lead to "problems" such as income tax rules, etc.

Best regards,

KMEM

Perhaps it is the "other" way around and most of those federal "marriage rights" shouldn't exist for any group.

Best regards,

KMEM

Good luck telling middle America that they will lose their SS survivor's benefits. That'll go over real well.