Computer Security Patch Problems- OnlineBanking

Lucky
This topic is 5736 days old and is no longer open for new replies.  Replies are automatically disabled after two years of inactivity.  Please create a new topic instead of posting here.  

Recently Dan Kaminsky, a researcher for the security firm IOActive, revealed a huge security problem in the internet. I am no expert, but essentially I think he says that a flaw in the system could allow bad guys to redirect your computer from a legitimate website to a fraudulent website that used the same address. (No doubt someone here who is smarter about computers can state the problem better.)

At any rate, he proposed a patch for this problem and in no time a flaw in the patch itself was found.

So, if I have this right, I could go online to my bank's website, and be inadvertently redirected by crooks to their website with the same address. Okay, but how would that crooked website have all of my banking information? Wouldn't I know as soon as I got there that it was a phony site?

As it is, my bank has a site key that I have selected, so if I don't see it when I get to the site, I don't sign in. (That's never happened.) The bank has also instituted an option, which I took, of having a text message sent to my cellphone which gives me a personal code necessary to log in. Yet I have read that even that can be phonied up.

The upshot of what the experts are saying is that online banking isn't nearly as safe as the banks would have us believe. I, like others, have grown quite used to it. I'd hate to think that someday someone could come along and steal my $42 balance by using internet fraud. I'd much rather spend it on a night with Rick Munroe!

So, you can hire Rick for $42? Care to share your secret?